Ok so i put on an ebay auction that any interested buyer could contact me by email if they were interested in buying a home theatre system for buy it now even though i did not have a buy it now tab on the ebay auction. I just found out that this is not aloud. The buyer is claiming that this supposed “PayPal” just initiated a new security feature that takes the mmoney out of the buyer’s account but then puts it on hold until they receive confirmation that the box is on its way. But usually for when i sell on ebay it will put the money on “pending” status but i will be able to see the money just not be able to use it. Is this person trying to scam me. I received an email from this email adress “service@intl.paypal.com” is there actually a paypal international and is this email adress valid or what. What should i do they are saying in the email that they are going to press legal action this does not sound like paypal. Usually they would have to file a complaint and then it could take weeks for the action to be resolved. What is weird though is that it isn’t in very good english and it does not look official what should i do?
Suggested Reading:
How to Buy, Sell, and Profit on eBay: Kick-Start Your Home-Based Business in Just Thirty DaysA lively insider's guide to starting a successful small business selling items old and new on eBay, written with personal anecdotes, well–kept se... Read More >




February 16th, 2010 at 3:02 am
GO to your pay pal account..not thru the link they sent you..but actually sign in thru Ebay..once you are there, go to, report suspicious emails..(or something like that..) and paste your email to them to send. You will get a report back shortly if it is a fake. (it sounds to me like it is)
February 16th, 2010 at 6:57 am
Please be so careful as some guy was killing people he met on Craig’s list to buy a computer and Stereo and your in in the same league.Delete and spam it so you will not be bothered again.They are trying to scam you i’m sure so ignore the losers and forget about it.
February 16th, 2010 at 12:05 pm
No. That’s a phishing email. A scam, to put this more bluntly. Don’t click on the link and give out your personal information to the people behind this. Forward the message to the paypal people at the following address:
spoof@paypal.com
After that, get it spammed straight into oblivion right away.
February 16th, 2010 at 3:20 pm
Maybe its a scam, maybe not. Probably is though. Sell the item on your terms. Not his.
February 16th, 2010 at 9:14 pm
Notify PayPal thru a known secure site address and share the information with them. Sounds like a shaky deal.
February 16th, 2010 at 11:33 pm
Mark it as Junk and delete it.
February 17th, 2010 at 3:01 am
lol…
he/she is trying to scam you… they are using a phisher
reply saying ” ************ ” or something
LMAO
February 17th, 2010 at 8:36 am
i wouldn’t trust it just re list it and sell to someone else, or try craigslist.com they are local in every state.
February 17th, 2010 at 1:53 pm
It’s a scam.. usually this “mediator” that supposedly holds the money for you is in partnership with the person who is scamming you. The email address is “spoofed”.
I see too many people fall for this. NEVER send money to people overseas because if you do and they take your money, there’s NOTHING you can do about it. http://reviews.ebay.com/Ebay-Scams-14-th…
hope that helps!
-DownRuffyhttp://tech605.wordpress.com